All Collections
The Ben Card
Using your Ben card
What are Merchant Category Codes?
What are Merchant Category Codes?

Here's some useful information about MCCs!

Krystian Otulak avatar
Written by Krystian Otulak
Updated over a week ago

Merchant category codes (MCCs) are four-digit numbers that credit or debit card issuers use to classify individual purchases according to the type of merchant where they were made.

How’s this relevant to you? 🤔

It might be possible that a transaction you’ve made with your Ben card is declined because the relevant Merchant category code has not been approved within the rules of your Ben card.

If that’s the case, you’ll receive an email notification letting you know your recent transaction was declined, and which specific merchant this was due to it not being approved within the rules of your allowance!

What can you do if you think a merchant should be accepted instead? ✅

The merchant code rules are typically set by your employer, based on the type of allowance they have included as part of your company benefits.

If you do believe the transaction you are trying to make falls into the category and guidelines of your allowance, feel free to request this to be accepted!

Just contact us at or via Live Chat 👉 and we’ll follow up with your employer!

Did this answer your question?